Governance structure 

The efficiency

The FNEC’s governance structure is a democratic model. It is about efficiency and is functional for First Nations because it respects their contexts and realities while allowing them to support the efforts made at the local and regional levels to reinforce their capacities in education.

The FNEC is fundamentally an association of communities that advocates for education rights to increase student success.
The FNEC is an advocate for community issues and promotes community empowerment in terms of governance, while strengthening
local and regional capacities in education.

The FNEC does not exist independently of the communities, but is well established within their fold and feeds into their interests.

Vacant positionStructure and mandates

Within this association, democracy is reflected in the full and complete participation of all 22 member communities in the decision-making process.

The structure includes:

    • A Special General Assembly bringing together all the Chiefs of the 22-member communities. It entrusts the FNEC with mandates related to the fulfillment of its mission, the realization of its vision and the defense of its political positions.
  • A Chiefs Committee composed of a maximum of seven volunteer Chiefs who are part of the FNEC’s Special General Assembly. The committee advises the FNEC and the Chiefs of the member communities on policy issues in the field of education. With the support of the FNEC, it elaborates the policy strategy, represents the interests of all member communities and ensures that the Chiefs are kept informed of progress and negotiations.

The Chiefs’ Committee is composed of:

  • John Martin, Councillor for the Mi’gmaq of Gesgapegiag
  • Harry Rice, Chief of the MohawkCouncil of Kahnawà:ke 
  • Lance Haymond, Chief of Kebaowek First Nation 
  • Jonathan Gill-Verreault, Councillor for the Première Nation des Pekuakamiulnuatsh 
  • Paul-Émile Ottawa, Councillor for the Conseil des Atikamekw de Manawan 
  • Richard Bélanger, Chief Councillor for Wolastoqiyik Wahsipekuk First Nation` 
  • Lisa Robinson, Chief of Wolf Lake First Nation
  • A General Assembly of 22 education representatives designated by their respective communities. The General Assembly entrusts its mandates to the FNEC.
  • A Finance and Administration Committee composed of three members from the General Assembly. This committee is an intermediary body between the general assembly and the FNEC. The committee is empowered to act in support of the FNEC in the management of finances and human resources, in accordance with the orientations and directives given by the assembly.

The Finance and Administration Committee is composed of:

  • Jovette Kistabish for the community of Pikogan
  • Richard Dussault for the community of Wendake
  • Leonard Polson for the community of Winneway

Follow us on

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Contact us


50, Boul. Bastien
Wendake, QC
G0A 4V0


Business hours

Monday to Friday
8:00 am to 12:00 pm and
1:00 pm to 4:15 pm

Monday to Thursday
8:00 am to 4:00 pm
8:00 am to noon

Contact us
Toll free: 1-855-842-7672
Fax: 418-842-9988

To send a message to the FNEC media relations team, please send an email to